Reviews

Please check out our reviews on our 3rd party sites too...

Freetobook

airbnb

Facebook

Home Away

Trip Advisor

 

Book Now

  • A lovely comfortable house with nice touches. Very clean and well furnished. We enjoyed the house but did not use most of the amenities as we were out most of the time for our son’s wedding at the nearby Kinkell Byre.

    — Jacqui M, 13 Aug 2018
  • Really enjoyed our stay at Michael's , really stylish place , very clean and in a quiet location.

    — Des W, 27 Jul 2018
  • We had the perfect long weekend at White Cottage. The cottage is beautiful with absolutely everything you need for a relaxing stay. We were attending a wedding nearby and we also enjoyed a lovely day in St Andrews. Many thanks to the cottage owners and caretaker who were very friendly and efficient from start to finish. We'll definitely be back.

    — Alison P, 23 Jul 2018
  • I've stayed in lots of self catering accommodation over the years and can honestly say that White Cottage has been my favourite. Spacious, clean and decorated to a very high standard. The booking process was simple and great communication throughout. Highly recommended.

    — Anne B, 09 Jul 2018
  • We stayed here for my graduation week. Michael’s place is full of thoughtful touches, and is furnished to a very high standard (comfy sofa, comfy beds, wonderful choice of artworks and small toys, beautiful and calming decor, underfloor heating in the bathroom). We loved waking up to birds singing and seeing wild rabbits around the garden. It really is a home away from home, the kitchen and bathroom are also very well stocked with essentials. We really loved staying at this beautiful little cottage, and wish we stayed for longer!

    — Mel L, 29 Jun 2018
  • We had a great stay at White Cottage. The place was immaculate very cosy, and it had everything we needed. We would definitely stay there again, and will be recommending to friends and family.

    — Colin D, 18 Jun 2018
  • A beautiful setting and the place had everything needed to self cater. The location is quiet but very close to St Andrews and the great Kingdom of Fife. The nearby town of Anstruther has great fish and chips at the Waterfront cafe.

    — Doug V, 29 May 2018
  • A lovely cottage in a beautiful location, we had a wonderful weekend, thank you very much.

    — Milo R, 21 May 2018
  • Great cottage, close to St. Andrews and Kinkell Byre. Communication from owner and cottage manager was fantastic. Perfect for our weekend at friends wedding. The cottage was beautifully presented and super clean and tidy. Will hopefully be able to use again in future and stay a bit longer next time! Thanks

    — Lydia M, 30 Apr 2018
  • Great spacious cottage for a family of five. Well decorated. Lovely fire. Cosy. Plenty of room for the kids to run about. And not far from St Andrews and all it has to offer. Will return. Thanks Michael.

    — Robin M, 26 Apr 2018
  • House was beautifully decorated throughout and sparkling clean. Communication was fab and timely. Coffee, biscuits and milk a nice touch to get settled in. Lots of board games was a great find too. Highly recommend.

    — Emma M, 23 Apr 2018
  • We had a wonderful stay at this lovely cottage. The owners have done a fabulous job at producing a practical and well laid out property with lots of lovely little touches. We visited with our three children 2,4,6 and it was perfectly kitted out with high chair, travel cot, toys, games, Julia Donaldson books which were a particular favourite. The kitchen was great, very new and full of anything you might need. We loved that the cottage was rural yet so close to St. Andrews and was a welcome retreat from how busy the town was.

    — Heather D, 11 Apr 2018
  • We felt very much at home in this lovely cottage with its well-chosen, tasteful decor and would certainly love to stay again on our next visit to St. Andrews.

    — June I, 26 Mar 2018
  • The location is short walk into St Andrews with a fantastic view over the East sands and the small harbour. Each room is beautifully decorated, both the living room and dining room are warm and relaxing, with the highlight being the log burner. Great facilities for families. We used this venue as the perfect base for our wedding at Kinkell Byre and couldn't find fault - reccomended!

    — Phillip and Laura, 24 Mar 2018
  • We thoroughly enjoyed our stay - the house was very clean and welcoming, comfy beds and great communication from the host. Conveniently located just a few minutes outside St Andrews. Sad to leave!

    — Laura, 22 Feb 2018
  • We would highly recommend staying at the White Cottage. Beautiful setting and great location. The cottage itself is beautifully decorated and very well equipped, especially if staying with little ones.

    — Jennings, 13 Feb 2018
  • An excellent cottage, spacious, very clean and well equipped. Very pleased by the provision of toys, books and equipment for the little ones. Short drive into St Andrews - close enough to pop in, far enough to be able to enjoy some fabulous views. We really enjoyed our stay and will recommend to others. Property manager helpful and made good contact when required. Good communication with owner throughout the booking process, in the lead-up and after our stay.

    — Hartley, 26 Jan 2018
  • My family of 4 stayed in White Cottage over Christmas and New Years and we absolutely loved it! Very comfortable and cozy feeling there, the house was well equipped and we could not have asked for more. All communication both with Michael and Nadine were good, good road instruction on how to get there and all information you might need are in the house. Would definitely book this place again when visiting beautiful Scotland :)

    — Karen O, 10 Jan 2018
  • Wir hatten eine großartige Zeit in White Cottage und haben uns rundum wohl gefühlt! Absolut empfehlenswert und jederzeit wieder gerne!

    — Doris, 11 Dec 2017
  • It’s really a lovely and cozy house surrounded by farmland. Perfect interior and nice view outside. Highly recommended for couple/group and family.

    — Yong, 30 Nov 2017
  • White Cottage is beautiful with everything you need for a lovely holiday. It is equipped to a very high standard and spotless. The rooms are lovely decorated and spacious. Beds are comfortable and cosy. The outside garden has all you need to enjoy the views and also a BBQ. Location very good, only a few minutes drive to St Andrews and lots of other nearby places to visit.
    Tips for other travellers - Trips to nearby places were very close to the cottage. St Andrews town and beach. Crail, again very nice walks and beach. We also visited Kingsbarn beach and seaside walk.

    — Margaret P, 25 Oct 2017
  • White cottage is a lovely place to stay, it is spotlessly clean, very homely and in a beautiful rural location and yet it is so close to St. Andrews. It is thoughtfully equipped. Simply perfect! This was our third visit and we can’t wait to stay again.

    — Shona L, 20 Oct 2017
  • Had a wonderful stay in the cottage, just perfect for a long weekend or longer.
    Cosy, lovely interior, beds were so comfy!
    And such space outside!!
    Well equipped, everything you could want away from home
    Childrens books and toys were very well received by our grandchildren
    Outside swing & chute too!
    Oh and a very nice touch with the whisky!
    Very close to St Andrews and the coast.
    We would definitley go back
    Nadine was most helpful on our arrival, thank you!
    Just perfect! The cottage is beautiful.

    Hope to see you again soon.

    — Jackie W, 17 Oct 2017
  • Very nice and cosy. Felt like being at home. Kitchen was very well equipped!

    — Bernd R, 11 Oct 2017
  • I can't fault this property it had everything and more for us - the kitchen was a delight with a fully stocked dry goods cupboard which was great. Did I feel at home... YES!!! It was cosy and I didn't want to leave. If you want a family get away or a couples retreat this is for you.

    — Katy and Stuart, 09 Oct 2017
  • We had another great week at White Cottage - such a well equipped and comfortable cottage in an amazing location. There is so much to see and do in and around St Andrews we were spoilt for choice. This is one if the best holiday cottages we have had the pleasure of staying in. Thankyou again for making us feel so welcome and so at home.

    — Peter and Susan Hall, 24 Sep 2017
  • An amazing place to stay. Great for young families as all on one level and brilliant selection of children's toys, books and dinnerware. Great space and play area outside too. Couldn't be happier with our stay.
    Tips for other travellers - St. Andrews centre and Anstruther. Lots to see and do. East sands beach and play area very good.

    — JP, 22 Sep 2017
  • Met by Nadine who was lovely and very helpful regarding our early arrival so that we could get changed for a wedding. Most accommodating.

    — Joan A, 20 Sep 2017
  • Beautiful cottage in excellent location. Plenty of open space for kids to play in, and everything included in cottage to make a home from home.
    Will definitely return to white cottage again!

    — Michael M, 13 Aug 2017
  • White cottage is simply the loveliest place to stay! It has all you need for a great holiday. It is cosy, well equipped, spotlessly clean and the perfect location to explore St. Andrews and the surrounding area. The views from white cottage are beautiful and it has a large garden with play equipment so it is suitable for all ages. This is a return for us and we had a great time and will be returning again.
    Tips for other travellers - there are so many beautiful villages to visit and some great beaches nearby. East sands is our favourite as it has the harbour, cathedral and castle nearby. Allan hill park is fab for families as is craigtoun park.

    — Shona L, 31 Jul 2017
  • White Cottage was a perfect place to spend a few days with our granddaughters. Located in very peaceful surroundings just a few minutes drive from centre of St. Andrews makes it an excellent spot for visiting the town, beaches or exploring the Fife coast. The cottage is very comfortable, clean and well equipped with everything you could need. Nice kitchen and dinning area. Welcome pack was appreciated. Thank you Michael & Jill for letting us stay and Nadine for your contact and directions. We enjoyed our visit and recommend it to anyone thinking of booking.

    — Christine M, 24 Jul 2017
  • The White Cottage is a lovely place to stay! It's absolutely beautiful. We will be returning to stay the next time we are in Scotland!

    — Paul S, 09 Jul 2017
  • This is a great cottage and a great location for visiting St Andrews and this fabulous part of Fife. It was so easy to pop into town and back. Would stay again.

    — Sam F, 30 Jun 2017
  • A perfect place to stay and relax. We would recommend White cottage to anyone thinking of booking and thank you for our lovely welcome from Nadine.

    — Gail S, 15 Jun 2017
  • The house was immaculate. Clearly well looked after and cleaned after each stay. Provisions left in the kitchen were an appreciated welcome when we arrived late at night. Would definitely stay again. 5/5 all round.

    — Dominic T, 09 Jun 2017
  • We were guests at a wedding in Kinkell Byre which is just five minutes drive from White Cottage. The house is superbly equipped with quality furnishings, comfortable beds and lots of thoughtful extras. We appreciated the welcome pack of coffee, tea, milk, bread, butter.......and whisky! Our grandchildren loved the play equipment outside, the toys and books. Thank you for making our stay such a happy one.

    — J.C. and Family, 07 Jun 2017
  • Fantastic holiday rental for a week in May for four adults and 2 children. Michael provided excellent communication prior to the visit and couldn't have been more accommodating ensuring the cottage was set up for a child friendly visit with high chair, toys, garden swing and chute, children's cutlery, plates etc and a travel cot with brand new mattress. We had a a amazing stay, everything that we needed was provided including a lovely welcome pack with milk, bread, shortbread and various other bits and pieces. Kids loved their stay, especially the massive garden and play set. Cottage is in fantastic condition, everything very modern and clean. Whilst not in the centre of the town, it is only a five minute drive to the main streets and the location allows for stunning views and an array of wildlife, including various birds and deer, rabbits etc. We will be back, best holiday in St. Andrews so far.

    — Aileen S, 29 May 2017
  • The White Cottage is absolutely wonderful!
    We stayed as 5 adults for my parents ruby wedding anniversary.
    Spotlessly clean, tasteful decor and every ammenity you could hope for in a home from home.
    The location is so tranquil and peaceful yet only 5 mins from the buzz of St Andrews.
    Cannot recommend the white cottage highly enough.

    — Natalie Gilchrist, 08 May 2017
  • What a stunning location for a break. The cottage was magnificent decor of a very high standard. Spotless and extremely comfortable for everyone's needs. The grounds were vast with beautiful gardens. Lots of interesting places for children to play if required. There was nothing that wasn't available in terms of the house. Beautiful welcome with bread milk shortbread and a wee dram. Short drive from many of the East coast quaint wee villages and towns. Can highly recommend this idealic accomodation.

    — Patricia M, 03 May 2017
  • A beautiful cottage set in a stunning location. It's just a short drive from St. Andrews but it feels like you're in the middle of the countryside. It's also a very private and quiet location. Inside the cottage is beautifully decorated and has lots of extras, toys, sky TV, docking station, binoculars to look at the view of the bay from the back garden, and a lovely welcome food pack when you arrive. They really have thought of everything. A real home from home. A cannot recommend white cottage highly enough. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

    — Julie C, 03 Apr 2017
  • Myself and my family stayed here for the weekend as we were visiting my brother who is at university in St Andrews! The decor was beautiful, it was really clean and we had a fabulous stay. The kitchen was beautiful and had everything we needed to cook and the shortbread and loaf of bread left for us was also a plus. The bathroom was lovely too and we loved the underfloor heating. We enjoyed playing the assortment of games available and using the music player. I would definitely recommend staying here, the views were fantastic too! Thanks for a relaxing and enjoyable stay :)

    — Bethany S, 14 Mar 2017
  • This is a beautiful cottage very well equipped. Very big living space. Would stay here again.

    — Brodie M, 06 Mar 2017
  • Just returned from a great weekend. White Cottage is fantastic and has a luxurious yet traditional feel. The cottage is extremely well equipped with TV, DVD player, books, DVD's, wood burning fire and every kitchen item you could ever require. Our kids loved the open space in the living area and were well occupied with the toys and DVD's available. The cottage is in a perfect location just a short drive to the town centre for golf, beach, restaurants and entertainment. The kids loved the garden with the swings and slide and I'm sure it would be fantastic for summer BBQ's. We will certainly be back and will definitely be recommending the property to friends and family.

    — Duncan M, 19 Feb 2017
  • Cosy costal retreat! We had a lovely mini-break at White Cottage enjoying a fair bit of sunshine for the time of year whilst out walking around the beautiful coastline. The cottage was quiet and well situated and furnished to a very high standard with excellent facilities and provision of household equipment. The welcome hamper was well-received and a very thoughtful touch. Thank you for a perfect stay....we hope to return in the summer.

    — Lucy A, 17 Nov 2016
  • Lovely property that really was a home from home. Kitchen had everything you would ever need and a lovely living/dining area to relax in. Great place to stay.

    — Debbie A, 15 Nov 2016
  • We had lovely family time with our children who now live in Scotland, catering facilities fantastic and welcome pack was great. Our daughter had her friends for dinner, they loved the decor and open fire a real home from home and break from their student pads. Really well equipped kitchen, hard to think of anything which would improve as excellent experience and enjoyable family time together.

    — Jackie C, 07 Nov 2016
  • We loved our stay at White cottage. We have stayed in various holiday lets whilst in St Andrews but this is the one that we have rated as best. Beautiful views, lovely, well equipped and thoughtfully put together with everything you could possibly need. We would recommend this cottage and would love to return for another holiday. Simply perfect.

    — Shona L, 22 Oct 2016
  • Lovely cottage that has been entirely renovated with lot's of taste. Perfect experience for a group of 4-5 people. We will come back! We had a great stay in the Cottage playing four links courses in the area. We enjoyed relaxing at the cottage after our rounds, so much that we never went to a restaurant! Thank you for this experience.

    — Thomas E, 19 Oct 2016
  • One word... Fantastic!! Was so beautifully decorated and homely. Nadine was wonderful and was a great host. Definitely going to try and come back here again!! Thank you for giving us a perfect base for our St. Andrews trip.

    — Emma A, 27 Sep 2016
  • There was a lot of thought and consideration for the benefit of the guest put into White Cottage - including the welcome pack of coffee, milk, bread and butter to plenty of logs for the fire (including very clear instructions on how to light it) and every imaginable kitchen tool! The bedrooms and living space were tastefully decorated, well presented and most comfortable.
    Tip: We especially enjoyed the Fishing Museum at Anstruther and Scone Palace. The walks along the coastal path were also quite accessible and very enjoyable - especially when the seals and dolphins put on a display!!

    — Pete & Sue H, 18 Sep 2016
  • Quiet and very nice location. Everything you need is there and in excellent condition.

    — Günther O, 11 Sep 2016
  • A perfect holiday home 5 minutes' drive from St Andrews. The house is lovingly furnished down to the smallest detail. It is located in beautiful, quiet location in the middle of fields and has a large garden with slide and swing situated. The popular seaside resorts like Pittenweem can be reached in about 20 minutes by car.
    The house has a fully equipped kitchen, a spacious living room with dining area, a master bedroom and two further bedrooms. The house was very clean and we felt completely comfortable.
    The service by the owner was very good. We can only recommend the house.

    — Volker F, 02 Sep 2016
  • We spent a lovely week at the cottage, which was a great base from which to enjoy St Andrews and explore the East Neuk more generally. The location is ideal - rural and quiet, but only a few minutes from town and lots of amenities. The cottage was well equipped and the owners were very generous with everything they left to be enjoyed. The garden was great for children, especially the slide and swings. We'd definitely recommend the White Cottage.
    Tips for other travellers - There's plenty to do in St Andrews - and eating out highlights included Blackhorn, the Tail End and Little Italy, all of which were family friendly. Farther afield, we had a lovely lunch at the Ship Inn in Elie. If cycling is your thing there are plenty of quiet A and B roads to explore.

    — Brian M, 29 Aug 2016
  • Could not be improved on! Exactly what we were hoping for, beautifully presented and thoughtfully kitted out. Easy communication. We would come back in a flash!
    Tips for other travellers - If you have children, Craigtoun park is a must-see, supermarkets a 5 min car journey away, the beaches of course! Janettas' ice cream parlour for big kids and little ones alike ;-) I'd advise you to book ahead if you want the restaurant of your choice, we took a chance and ended up at Pizza Express which was fine, just not very special.

    — Kirsty B, 13 Aug 2016
  • So much more than an holiday house. The 'home' had everything and more that we needed. Very child friendly and the extras made such a difference. Great location for exploring Fife.

    — Amanda C, 10 Aug 2016
  • Comfort and peace. The White cottage did not disappoint. Location is great; close enough to St Andrews but rural in aspect. The house was most thoughtfully, carefully and efficiently equipped. Yes all is pretty new but there really was absolutely nothing lacking. Masses of equipment in the kitchen and comfortable beds and good quality linen. For anyone wanting the best of both worlds: then this is perfect.. Strongly recommended. 5 Stars

    — Chris B, 03 Aug 2016
  • Michael's communication was great, Nadine was brilliant and there was coffee, shortbread etc. on arrival! We were at a wedding in Kinkell Byre, the cottage was a perfect location both for a merry stroll home from there and to visit beautiful St Andrews the next day. The cottage is beautifully fitted with a great kitchen, HUGE bed and lovely bathroom. If we were up that way again, we'd certainly stay with Michael.

    — Tom H, 17 Jul 2016
  • We had great communication with Michael up to the time of arrival. The cottage is perfect! Set just a short drive outside town, is is private, and exactly as seen in the photos. We used the BBQ 2 evenings, and loved the spacious cottage, and kitchen. We highly recommend!

    — Dale R, 26 Jun 2016
  • The White Cottage was a fantastic choice. The house is extremely comfortable and well equipped with everything you could need. Very short drive into town and beautiful views down to the sea. A very enjoyable stay and I would highly recommend this lovely cottage.

    — Emma L, 23 Jun 2016
  • My family stayed at White Cottage for two nights in June 2016, wish we could have stayed longer! The cottage was decorated and furnished to a very high standard and very clean.
    The kitchen came stocked with all the essentials like coffee, tea, bread and milk and had all the appliances, plates, cups, glasses etc that you would need for a holiday.
    The bedrooms all have comfy beds and the underfloor heating in the bathroom is great!
    The little touches like a box of toys that kept our two year old entertained for our trip, plenty of books (including kids books), Sky TV and an iPod with Amazon music really make this 5 star accommodation.

    We will hopefully be returning for a longer stay in the future and would definitely recommend White Cottage.

    — Kevin P, 22 Jun 2016
  • Property is very tasteful newly renovated with a Scottish theme and well maintained. The kitchen is very well equipped with cooking utilities. On arrival we had milk and juice in the fridge . Coffee, tea and biscuits were also available for us. This was very nice because the next shop is in town. We also enjoyed the wood burning stove. Wood and firelighters were provided. Will definitely come back.

    — Gabriele L, 14 Jun 2016
  • All relevant information on accessing and leaving the property was provided making it a smooth and hassle free process. The property itself was well equipped and clean. There was a welcome pack of milk, bread and other essentials on arrival along with fire wood also available. Having cleaning essentials, washing powder, soap, loo paper etc. there made it all very easy. Instructions were left for every eventuality and contact numbers if necessary. The house location was exactly as described in the listing apart from the fact that the 2 minutes from St. Andrew's was more like 7 in a car. It was wonderfully peaceful and the views were magnificent. We would happily go back there and would thoroughly recommend it.

    — Veronique G, 31 May 2016
  • My husband and I have just returned from 3 lovely weeks at White Cottage, Prior Muir, near St. Andrews. The cottage is beautifully decorated and well equipped. They have done a wonderful job of providing just about everything you could ever need or want for a restful holiday. The cottage is located in a very private space with beautiful farm views and loads of sunlight coming in many windows. The location is peaceful yet very convenient for visiting St. Andrews. We loved our time at white Cottage and hope to return next year.

    — David & Judy F, 28 May 2016
  • I've stayed in Airbnb places all over the world and White Cottage is by far the best. The quality of the improvements and the attention to detail is impeccable. It's just a short drive into St. Andrews and the location is quiet and serene. Views from every window and a nice backyard for kids. I was there for a golf trip and it was perfect. Congratulations, Michael!

    — Don R, 29 Apr 2016
  • A beautifully furnished and decorated cottage on the outskirts of St Andrews. A major plus for us was the box of good quality toys and books for young children and the good sized garden to keep our boys amused. We were very lucky with the weather and would have loved some garden furniture to make the most of the sunshine. Overall we very much enjoyed our stay in this cosy cottage and would recommend it to others. Tips for other travellers: East sands beach lovely. Botanic garden good for wee ones. Our children loved the hedgehog trail.

    — Foley, 20 Apr 2016
  • Had a wonderful stay at this beautiful luxurious cottage in the country, just outside St Andrews. Our 6yr old twins loved the swings and slide in the huge garden, chasing rabbits. The cottage has a view of St Andrews and the sea. You have so much to do from the amazing eateries in and an around St Andrews or a visit to the lovely harbours and beaches all round the fife coast. Also farm parks and plenty of golf courses to pick from. The best part of the holiday though was coming home and getting fire on with a lovely bottle of wine and a good board game. The cottage has everything and more for all ages. Really the photos don't do this fab cottage justice, you will just have to book up to see for yourself. We will definitely be returning in the future! Michael you have done a great job and looking forward to the other plans you have for the cottage!

    — Low Family, 17 Apr 2016
  • We found the accommodation first class, with everything that you could possibly think of provided. The cottage was beautifully decorated and extremely clean and comfortable with amazing views from every window. It truly was a fantastic place to stay and we wouldn't hesitate to book again in the future.

    — Goswami Family, 14 Apr 2016
  • The cottage is in a great location and has been very nicely refurbished. Great for kids too. Tips for other travellers: The Grange restaurant. Cromar's & Tailend fish n chip shops. Craigton Park. Eden Brewery / Distillery.

    — Mackintosh, 14 Apr 2016
  • Cottage modernised and furnished in the country style. Very comfortable and cosy on these cold March evenings. The kitchen is lovely and spacious and is stocked with all mod cons and utensils that you would need for a short stay. There were only two of us staying but the cottage is big enough for a family of four or more. We had good fun with the wood burning stove which made the lounge very cosy in the evenings. A car is essential for a stay here as it is at least a mile into St Andrews on a country road with no pavement. Nice views from the windows. We were surprised and fascinated at the amount of wildlife just outside the front door to the point that we donated a pair of binoculars bought from a local charity shop !! It is our intention to return to White Cottage in the summer and have already made enquires.

    — Mr & Mrs Smith, 24 Mar 2016
  • Beautiful Cottage with a lovely homely feel. Really enjoyed our stay, thank you!

    — Hill Family, 21 Feb 2016
  • The White Cottage is really beautiful, spotless and very comfortable. Only a few minutes drive into the centre of St Andrews, it is a perfect location. The kids had plenty of space to play outside, would be fantastic in the better weather. In February we enjoyed the cosy wood burning stove! We'd love to return and would definitely recommend the cottage to friends. Thanks for a great holiday!

    — McFadyen Family, 18 Feb 2016